Iglesia de la Asunción

Construction of Iglesia de la Asunción, a Renaissance temple, began in 1622.

It consists of three naves separated by voussoir semi-circular arches that are supported on Tuscan columns.

The temple has 17th century twin altarpieces dedicated to San José and the Virgen de los Dolores, whilst the raised altarpiece and those of the cross aisle date back to the 18th century. 

In terms of its chapels, the chapel dedicated to Jesús Nazareno bears mention as a result of its size, and was added in the 18th century.

The current sacristy, formerly the reliquary, boasts a wall decoration of grotto motifs, whilst its vault boasts fresco paintings with angels.

However, the most singular feature of this church is undoubtedly the funerary crypt that, following a similar layout, is extended under the apse, supported by solid pillars and lowered arches, all constructed in red stone.

  • Address:

    Plaza de la Constitución, 0

  • Zip:14620

More Information

No attachment for this content